13259

Follow your interests, they tell you.

Not bad advice.

I’m not going to talk about what interests I’ve been following lately, but they’ve been resulting in a lot of writing getting done, and that’s what matters to me. This is the kind of writing that I tell myself doesn’t “count”, but when I’ve written this much of it, it fucking counts.

And it should count the rest of the time, too.

The thing with this project – one I’ve been working on, on and off, for almost 2 years now – is that it’s not one I ever pushed myself to finish; it exists mostly so that I can just write it whenever the mood strikes me, and today – and for the past few days, actually – the mood has struck hard. It’s the kind of writing that doesn’t “count” because it’s not something I’d ever want to publish or show to anybody; it’s just for me.

But it should still count, because a) it’s writing, and b) the more writing I do, the better I get at it …

And the more I write things that I actually enjoy writing, the more I remember that, actually, I do enjoy writing. I just don’t always enjoy writing what I’m telling myself I should be writing, and I think it’s about time I started learning that lesson.

Werewolf thing – fuck it. For now anyway. It’s just not doing it for me. And even if I’m never going to publish this particular story, it might still come in handy later down the line. I might be able to use parts of it somewhere else. But right now, having it just for me is absolutely what I want, and probably part of why I’m enjoying it so much.

I used to want to be a writer for a career. I think now I want to learn how to write for a hobby. Because if the past few days are any indication, it’s a fucking awesome hobby.

Leave a Reply

