Camp Nanowrimo 2016 Redux: 434

You know what? It’s fine.

I am not going to try and push myself to finish Camp Nano; this is my birthday dinner day and I’m still recovering from last night’s all-time low in terms of anxiety medication-induced sleep issues. Which has only been happening for the past 11 days, but that’s more than enough.

This writing project, I think, has definitely reached a terminal point in its usefulness to me as a writing exercise. I will finish it, but I am going to stop trying to make it “work”. I’m just going to write what feels most obvious to me in terms of this being me copying werewolf tropes that I’m familiar with, rather than being the most obvious thing to happen in a solid, coherent story. Because otherwise it’s not going to get written. And I do want it to be written.

I don’t think I’ll be sending it off for publishing or anything, though. I will probably do a revision just to get all the events in the right order, but the next time I try this write-as-fast-as-possible experiment it’s going to be with a new project, rather than continuing with this one. Maybe another werewolf story, because I really do have a thing for writing werewolves, but the point is that it won’t be this werewolf story.

And despite everything, I am glad that I gave Camp Nano a shot. No, it really didn’t go the way I wanted it to, but it did get me to focus on writing and try a few things out for a month, and that’s no bad thing. I’ll just hope that when real Nano rolls around this year, I’ll be in a better position to take advantage of it.

Leave a Reply

