I thought seven was the most powerful magical number

So J.K. Rowling has announced that her The Cursed Child play, co-written with a couple of other people, is going to be released as a two-part book series.

I spent about half an hour writing this huge, rambling post about how all good stories have to end, how it’s unhealthy to treat any one single thing as the be-all-and-end-all to your satisfaction and fulfillment in life, even something as profoundly formative as Harry Potter has been to hundreds of millions of people around the world, including myself. How no amount of sequels, prequels or spinoffs can ever fill the void we all feel, the yearning for more, because that yearning for more isn’t actually a yearning for more of the same – it’s the signal we give ourselves that, yes, we need more, but it’s because we’ve been spending so much time in this single, narrow space trying to convince ourselves that it is the entire world. It’s because we know, deep down, that there is more to life than any one thing, no matter how wonderful, and that we will be much more fulfilled by branching out and finding them – and probably appreciate this one thing all the more for it when we eventually return to it.

And then I actually read the goddamn article and it informed me that this is not actually a book, but a published script of the play.

Which is actually kind of cool. I definitely prefer that to another book. I mean yes this is a book, but I mean a book-book.

Because Harry Potter is FINISHED. It finished, it was supposed to finish, it finished well, and it’s fucking DONE. The last thing I want is for my favourite story to grow thin and stretched, like butter scraped over too much bread. That’s the main reason I am not even remotely excited for the Fantastic Creatures and Where to Find Them films (as well as the fact that they’re being directed by David Yates, who is my second-least favourite director of the HP films): it’s not giving me more of what I want. What I want is more of the feeling of inclusion, of wanting to be included, and I don’t think I can ever get that from Harry Potter again – at least not like this. The closest I can get is to go back to the original seven books and revisit them that way, but it will never be the same. I’ll need to find something else. And that is a good thing.

I mean I’m still going to read this thing but yeah the Wizarding World has had enough of a monopoly over my creative life, time for some new prospects.

 

Leave a Reply

