New Year’s Productivity

I just added slightly over 1k words to the revision of my MA chapter. It’s getting there. More importantly, the momentum is building up again, and that’s what really matters in the long run.

Now for my other thing.

I am no closer to figuring out what to do with my shitty YA werewolf novel, but at least I feel less constipated about it. I feel like I am nearing the answer. I’m just not sure what I need to do in order to get to it.

But I am thinking that it might be the fact that I’m trying to condense half a book’s worth of material into three chapters that’s got me so stuck, because these chapters I’m gearing up to write are all focused around introducing and fleshing out the werewolf stuff. If I were writing a “real” book then I’d hopefully do this a lot more smoothly, incorporating the exposition into the story rather than setting aside a whole chunk of the story to explain it. But this is YA. You’ve got to wear you Harry Potter influences on your sleeve. That’s all. It’s definitely not because I’m a hack or anything. I mean, I have a blog about writing. This blog. What kind of a hack would write about their hacky writing and pass it off as some kind of insightful public journal?

In any case, the chapters I’m working towards are very … well, they need to take a lot of pressure and spread it out. At least according to the plan I currently have, and honestly I don’t know why all of a sudden that plan, which I’ve complained about a few times already, is now my template for the remainder of this story that I can’t possibly deviate from. I think it’s the fact that the rest of the story doesn’t support what I actually want to write, which is much quicker, to-the-point and doesn’t stuff around introducing and establishing the supporting cast, how the Special World works for our newbie lead protagonist, all that jazz. I’m suddenly in the mood for something a hell of a lot less YA and a hell of a lot more An American Werewolf in London. Which is a very strange film indeed, and I’m also not sure why I’m suddenly interested in evoking it in this Nano novel that, up until now, has played out pretty much exactly like you’d imagine a stereotypical YA urban fantasy  with a male lead might. Which is the entire point.

And if that’s the entire point, then I am obliged to do some info-dump world-building. It’s kind of mandatory. It’s just not what I want to do, so …

Maybe I’ll just go look at that plan again and see what I get out of it.

But regardless: I got some shit done today, and that’s definitely a good way to kick off the new year.

Leave a Reply

