Post-Nanowrimo 2015: 5102

So I never did find out what Dragon Lore: Curse of the Shadow was, because after 5 minutes I wanted to throw my expensive HDTV across the street. Instead I watched The Company of Wolves, a Neil Jordan film adapted from an Angela Carter short story, part of a collection that I really want, and while I have some, shall we say, thoughts about the fact that the lead actress in this very Freudian, sexually-charged film was between 12 and 14 years old at the time of filming, I really do love this movie for its evocative, dreamlike atmosphere, plus you really can’t go past Angela Lansbury.

And while it wasn’t quite what I was looking for in terms of something to recharge my creative batteries, I did just write a full chapter of my shitty YA werewolf thing, so I guess it did something for me.

That leaves 4 planned chapters to go, one of which I’ve already written a fair part of and just need to shift bits of it around to make it fit with my plan. They’re earlier chapters; this one and the next one are the two final chapters, and in a way I think it’s better that I write these now and save the rest for last, simply because they’re the most important in a way, and kind of need the rest of the story told before they can be written, so that I can feel out exactly how they should play out in order to set everything else up.

Anyway yay writing it’s now past 1 a.m. and I need to sleep or something because I am not, in fact, a werewolf myself. More’s the pity. At least if Teen Wolf is any indication, wherein being a werewolf has exactly zero downsides and about a million perks.

Sleeeeeeeeeeeep.

Leave a Reply

