All day every day

Well, not every day, but I basically spent the entirety of today just writing.

And it was fucking awesome.

I got started writing something because I felt inspired to write, and I kept going. Not only that, but I finished it – not a whole story, obviously, but the first chapter of a new story. Over 6k words. And it had an arc, a little internal progression; sure it could be better, a lot better, but it’s clear, it’s solid, it’s a foundation that works.

I wrote a story all damn day, and my god I needed it. I feel fucking amazing.

Werewolves. Who would have thought?

The best part is that, if I decide that I don’t want to use this particular story anymore, it will work really well with one of my other story ideas, one of the ones that I couldn’t think of a way to get started on. So that’s 6k words in one day … theoretically – and I’m not going to do it, for obvious reasons – but theoretically, if I did that for the next nine days, I’d have a 60k draft of a novel at the end of it. I would love to do that. I can’t because I have to study and shit, but I can do some every day. And I even have enough of a plot to plan out what to write next. And I’m excited to write it. All of this because I watched The Maze Runner and a shitty werewolf movie with Jason Momoa in it – just goes to show what can happen if you let yourself do the things you want to do.

I may not be a writer anymore. But I fucking love writing.

 

Leave a Reply

