When a plan comes together, take 2

I have a plan.

It’s only detailed in any great … detail … up to chapter 5, but I have a broad idea and some key moments that I want to happen beyond that; I’ve made the story longer and may have given it 4 acts instead of 3, and I’m looking forward to it.

I am really looking forward to it.

This feels like the story I wanted to tell, even though I know it isn’t. We’ll see where that gets me. I may well come up with another plan tomorrow, or whenever the next time is that I have time to work on my novel; I never did go back to basics and see what I could do with the original story idea that I came up with, and I fear that it may come back to bite me and spread the poison of regret through my veins – until that time, though, I’m pretty stoked with what I’ve got.

It’s been a lot of shifting things around in small but specific increments: a scene from chapter X getting put in chapter Y, the modified chapter Y swapping places with chapter H, that sort of thing. And, again, all of this so far only adds up to 5 planned chapters, and then a broad, skeletal overview to follow. But I think it’s enough to work with. I’ve increased the role of certain key points that just didn’t feel key, diminished the roles of others that were a bit too key, and hopefully this will all result in the key point – the main character and her story – being the most vital and potent element, the thing that holds everything together and that the story lives or dies by, and strong and compelling enough to not just live but thrive. I am excited to find out.

I have an odd dilemma in terms of worldbuilding though: I feel like I need to put some more dudes in the story. I don’t really want to because I’ve had enough stories with dudes in them to last me several lifetimes, but it does feel a bit conspicuous how few of the characters and extras in this story aren’t girls or women. Also it’s set at a co-ed high school, so one would expect there’d be a few male specimens here and there. I’m definitely not talking main characters because fuck knows I have probably too many of those already, but I may just want to point out that, y’know, they do exist. Just in the background, where most people at high school are. Or so I imagine, having never actually been to high school. I guess I’ll just have to trust that my university experience is analogous enough to make it seem authentic.

Or, y’know, research. But what self-respecting author has time for that shit, amirite?

Anyway I’m EXCITED THIS IS GOING TO BE SO FUN AND COOL AND DEAR GOD I WILL NEVER HAVE TIME TO DO ANY OF IT BUT I’M GOING TO DO IT ANYWAY WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

I’m going to force myself to do it, so look forward to more regular, book-writing-related posts in the near future. Which I’m also looking forward to. It’s been so long that I’ve kinda forgotten that I do actually enjoy letting you guys know how my writing is going; it just hasn’t been going for the past year or so. It’s time to change that. It’s time to get back into gear.

Writer-mode activate!

 

 

Leave a Reply

