I think I can; I think I can …

I think I can bust out this revision and work on my two research essays without detriment to either undertaking!

I did all the things I had to do by this week; I wanted to send off a draft for one of my course convenors to look over for feedback by today and that didn’t happen, but I have gotten started actually drafting that essay, and like 3 weeks before it’s due, so that is still something to celebrate. I mean for me actually being pro-active and not waiting for last-minute anxiety adrenalin to power my way screaming facefirst into each and every single assignment I ever do is basically discovering that I was born under a red sun. I’ll take it.

And also because this oral presentation is out of the way, I can oh wait FUCK I still need to compile my blog posts for the other paper … ugh …

But even then, that’s not going to take more than a couple of hours; I can “narrativise” it if I wish, but maybe I don’t wish, who knows, I might do anything, I’m a wildcard man I can’t be tamed, also I need to buy one of the films I want to write about but because it’s a cool movie that’s not such a big deal I guess, just that I have to spend some of my student money on a thing, which is never a happy occasion.

And then, post-Halloween, I’ll be doing Nanowrimo, steaming ahead with my indulgent YA novel – which I will actually plot out – and proving that I can actually write an entire draft of a novel in just a month, and that I don’t have to take a whole year about it. That will feel very good.

And then after that I’ll finally have time to read all of those books I own and have not yet read, finally find a way to articulate my thoughts and feelings about Vampire Academy, I don’t know why but I just really have a lot to say about the first book especially; and I may even have enough momentum at that point to throw some stuff up on YouTube and even record my Darth Vader rap, which I conceived of in 2010, I think.

And also draw and play guitar and SO MANY THINGS WILL I DO YES MMM

It’s exciting.

And I think, also, I’m coming to terms with the fact that Tallulah is just kind of not a fantastic story, just a bundle of good ideas that I can cram into a roughly cohesive narrative and send out into the world. I think I’m just about ready to accept that; the important thing is to get it done instead of trying to make it perfect. I mean I have problems with all of my favourite stories told by other people; why not allow my own to have a couple of flaws?

I’m feeling good right now, and so good that I can probably capitalise on it big-time. And since I’ve had these moments before and let them slip by without making use of them, I’m going to stop blogging now and actually go do something about it.

Leave a Reply

