10 down, 10 to go

Halfway through making notes on my WIP, woot! Hard copies of manuscripts to use for revision are the incendiary device.

And this time around, pretty much everything can be made to work. The continuity errors that have occurred purely due to copy-pasting bits and pieces of the original manuscript all throughout the timeline with little to no editing whatsoever are freaking hilarious, and some of my old writing actually works really well in this new revision. It’s all pointing me in a very clear direction in which to focus my efforts for the next round of revisions, which will constitute Draft 2, the Full Rewrite. Only it won’t quite be full, because most of the new stuff I added works exactly how I want it to work. It’ll be ‘full’ in the sense that my¬†primary goal is to rewrite the story, both to tighten up the screws and just to give it a nice, shiny new layer of paint, without covering up the few sparkling gems that seem to glitter ever brighter as a result of being displayed in such a rough housing.

I thought I had been pretty brutal with my cutting of chapters and condensing of events, but now I think I was too lenient. I’ve already decided to merge two sets of chapters together, and this leaves me with the need to fill up space with, gasp, new chapters. Like entirely new content. And I do need it, because simply condensing the existing content is going to make everything feel way too rushed. Thankfully there’s a ton of stuff that still needs to be more fleshed-out at this halfway point of the story, so I’ve got plenty of options for new chapters. And a few ideas, too, so I’ll just write those down …

I’ve been making a rough plan for Draft 2 as I revise. Rough not just in terms of it being roughly-written, but also in that this is not a plan I’m going to hold myself to following when the time comes – more just to get it out of my head and into words, in case it proves useful later on.

I also read Kick-Ass today, and I think I like it even more than the film, and I like the film a lot. I tried writing a review of it today but it needs some drafting. For now, suffice it to say that I like it for similar reasons to why I like The Hunger Games, and I prefer the originals to the big-screen adaptations for even more similar reasons: so much of the intelligent commentary gets lost in translation.

I’ve also finally gotten to the halfway point of that JG Ballard book; I’ve given up on trying to figure out ‘what it means’ and accepted that perhaps it’s just a bit above me, and as soon as I did that it started to seem like I was just over-thinking it.

And I ordered three more books from The Book Depository: My Life as a White Trash Zombie, Bitten, and The Killing Moon. And now I am not allowed to buy anything else until I need it or have some kind of source of income.

All in all, not a bad day. The house looks great, and I’m trying to take advantage of the freed-up space in our potential last weeks living here. We’ve had a good innings.

Leave a Reply

