The deep end

So, I’ve started writing this YA paranormal action/comedy/romance/horror/sci-fi thing, and the only way I could think of to open it was having our heroine and her best friend sitting in her room, trying on clothes before they go out to a concert.

In first-person.

What could possibly go wrong?

Also using ‘Mom’ instead of ‘Mum’ feels so frigging unnatural, but the story seems to call for it.

And even writing this trying-on-clothes scene, the girliest way to open a story I could possibly think of, is really damn fun, because I’ve seen it before, and now I’m doing it myself, and it’s just … I don’t really know how to put it. There is something so enjoyable about mimicry, especially when you feel like you’re getting it right. I guess that’s why people like impressions, both doing them and seeing other people do them: it’s a testament of skill, and it’s also just kind of fascinating, watching something familiar appear seemingly out of nowhere. I guess that’s part of why I like acting so much, too.

I shall therefore conclude that it is going well, and I should continue to do it.

Leave a Reply

