Best-laid plans

For any other writers out there: have you ever done the thing where  you sit down to write out a synopsis of your story, get about halfway through doing really short, concise bullet-points, and then get to the point where you actually have to start making stuff up and suddenly you can’t be concise anymore because you don’t know what happens anymore?

That’s currently what I’m doing in trying to plan out draft 2. And I mean it’s not surprising or anything, it’s just giving me more reason to think that perhaps I did not read my manuscript with the attention that it deserved, because I feel like I should be able to draw a lot more on the stuff that I already have to fill in some of the blanks here.

But maybe that’s being unfair. For all that it was generative and had a lot of ideas that I definitely can use, it was still a very rough draft. And I mean I’m not planning to only make one synopsis and stop there; I will be drafting these synopses as well, especially after I get around to reading my beta readers’ feedback, so nothing’s set in stone here.

It’s just hard. I didn’t stick to my own plan. I was going to take a break. Though I didn’t specify how long a break it would be, so that didn’t help.

Ah well, I’ll finish this just to get it out of the way. I can always resort to ‘Then something happens’ if I really need to. Placeholders are totally legitimate authorial tools in the drafting process.

A lot of it is coming together very smoothly, though, so I’m certainly happy about that. And I finished The Hunger Games. I like it. I have a few issues with it, as I have a few issues with everything, but it’s good. I would definitely like to get my hands on the next two.

It’ll get done eventually. That’s what matters. That’s good enough.

Leave a Reply

