I Am Not Your Wife, Sister or Daughter. I Am A Person.

I Am Not Your Wife, Sister or Daughter. I Am A Person..

So I know that this is a writing blog, but this is more important than that.

This article is a critique on the use of arguments used to try and get people to identify with rape victims that go along the lines of: ‘imagine if she was your wife/mother/daughter’, and argues that relying on the value of these social roles hurts efforts to make people see women as worthy of respect for simply being people. It’s a good argument, and I hope you will read it.

As for my opinion: while I do think that the ‘wife/mother/daughter’ argument can be a starting-point in terms of building empathy for people who might otherwise not be able to see why rape is wrong, I also think that the fact that the argument has to be made at all, the fact that this argument assumes that there are people in our society who can’t see women as people and worthy of respect unless they have a ‘respectable’ role in society, as a member of a family in this case, reflects an incredibly disturbing and, frankly, sociopathic trend with regards to how women are regarded, one that doesn’t care what happens to women unless they occupy these social roles, and doesn’t recognise their personhood without these labels.

So ultimately, I agree with the argument that this writer makes, because while the ‘wife/mother/daughter’ argument has its uses, that is part of the problem in and of itself.

Leave a Reply

