Something … new?

No, not really.

I am going to write vampire fiction.

Let me clarify: I am going to write satirical erotic vampire fiction that will also serve as a metacritique of how vampires are portrayed in popular culture today, which is a fancy way of saying that I want to write an entire series of novels dedicated to bashing Twilight so far into the ground that it comes out on the other side of the world in the form of highly-pressurised carbon. Essentially I want to write the Vamp-Fic equivalent of Ruby Sparks.

This will, of course, happen after I finish Tallulah, but right now I’m having a little too much fun thinking up all of the specifics in terms of how I’m going to distinguish my vampires from all the other ones. Also, this is a great opportunity to explore the vampire-equivalents of other cultures, because there are some pretty cool ones, like the African ones that appear as bolts of lightning, except to women, for whom they appear as either a hammerkop bird or a man, and do the whole vampire thing.

And I just wonder if this is the point where I sell out as a writer, before I’ve even been published. or paid. so I guess it’s not technically selling out, but still.

and yes, some kind of critique is necessary for a lot of the current vampire-related stuff we’ve got clogging up popular consciousness, but at the same time it’s just feeding the machine even more – there’s no such thing as bad press.

But hey. maybe I’ll make it about selkies instead. just for a change of pace.

I am going to get back to writing today, as the university general library has finally opened for business again, and thus I can get out of the house and away from the distraction of a working internet connection and familiar surroundings. and hopefully I will just write and write and write until there is nothing left to write but the next draft. which I will then write. but most importantly, I’m going to get back into it today. I think it’s been a long enough break.

I think this is going to be another good year for writing. it feels so strange – and exciting – to be working on the same project from one year to the next. it makes it feel like a real thing when it doesn’t finish at the end of the year, so in that sense I’m actually glad that I didn’t get it done when I said I would.

and also because there’s far too much left for me to try out before I have the audacity to shape it into something final and end the process.

here’s to more writing.

Leave a Reply

